Northwest Louisiana Council of Governments

About Us

The Northwest Louisiana Council of Governments (NLCOG) is an intergovernmental association of the local governments for the Metropolitan Planning Area of Bossier, Caddo, DeSoto, and Webster Parishes established to assist in planning for common needs, cooperating for the mutual benefit, and coordinating for sound regional development. The vision of NLCOG is to conduct regional planning, facilitate coordination and cooperation, serve as a source of information and expertise on issues affecting northwest Louisiana, and assist member agencies in accessing funding to accomplish local and regional goals.

As the Regional Planning Council, our purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions for the benefit of the community. This is achieved by developing and implementing constructive and workable policies and programs for solving area-wide problems. These issues include transportation, economic development, health, safety, welfare, education, quality of life, and regional development issues.

NLCOG also functions as our region's Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) as recognized by the state of Louisiana, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). MPOs are required by federal law in areas with a population of 50,000 or more.

Our Plans

As the MPO, NLCOG develops, implements, and maintains the following key plans and programs:

Metropolitan Transportation Plan
Transportation Improvement Program
Unified Planning Work Program
Public Participation Plan
Congestion Management Process

NLCOG Board of Directors

The fiduciary body of NLCOG.

More Info

MPO Transportation Policy Committee

The governing body of the Shreveport/Bossier City MPO.

More Info

Staff Directory

staff icon
Kent Rogers
Executive Director

staff icon
Chris Petro, AICP
Director of Planning

staff icon
Rita Arnold
staff icon
Dr. Shelly Barrett
Transportation Safety
staff icon
Lisa Frazier
Public Involvement,
Title VI Coordinator
staff icon
John Pizzolato, MCP
Network & Systems
staff icon
Kevin Reeves, OCP
ReGIS Database
staff icon
Heidi Stewart
Environmental Planner,
GIS Analyst
staff icon
Savannah Williams
Administrative Assistant